Hugo Award Nominations!

Locus Online News: Hugo and Campbell Awards Nominations
It’s that exciting time of year (no, really!) when the Hugo awards nominations are announced. I had expected a weird skew of nominees because the convention is being held in Japan this year.
Update: The Hugo Administrators have announced a change in the “Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form” category; Pirates of the Carribean: Dead Man’s Chest is off and Pan’s Labyrinth is on. There was an error in the original tally, and this is a correction to reflect the actual votes.

# Blindsight, Peter Watts (Tor)
# Eifelheim, Michael Flynn (Tor)
# Glasshouse, Charles Stross (Ace)
# His Majesty’s Dragon, Naomi Novik (Ballantine Del Rey; Voyager as Temeraire)
# Rainbows End, Vernor Vinge (Tor)
I’ve read Novik, and I’ve just started the Watts. I do want to read the Stross and the Vinge and heard good things about the Flynn. A good batch.
Stross has now been nominated for best novel for four years running. Only Robert Silverberg has managed that feat before:
2007 Glasshouse
2006 Accelerando (lost to Spin)
2005 Iron Sunrise (lost to Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell)
2004 Singularity Sky (lost to Paladin of Souls)
1973 The Book of Skulls AND Dying Inside (lost to The Gods Themselves)
1972 A Time of Change AND (withdrawn, The World Inside) (lost to To Your Scattered Bodies Go)
1971 Tower of Glass (Lost to Ringworld)
1970 Up the Line (Lost to The Left Hand of Darkness)
# “A Billion Eves”, Robert Reed (Asimov’s Oct/Nov 2006)
# “Inclination”, William Shunn (Asimov’s Apr/May 2006)
# Julian: A Christmas Story, Robert Charles Wilson (PS Publishing)
# “Lord Weary’s Empire”, Michael Swanwick (Asimov’s Dec 2006)
# “The Walls of the Universe”, Paul Melko (Asimov’s Apr/May 2006)
Blanket bit about all of the short form fiction–I don’t read much new short fiction anymore.
# “All the Things You Are”, Mike Resnick (Jim Baen’s Universe Oct 2006)
# “Dawn, and Sunset, and the Colours of the Earth”, Michael F. Flynn (Asimov’s Oct/Nov 2006)
# “The Djinn’s Wife”, Ian McDonald (Asimov’s Jul 2006)
# “Pol Pot’s Beautiful Daughter (Fantasy)”, Geoff Ryman (F&SF Oct 2006)
# “Yellow Card Man”, Paolo Bacigalupi (Asimov’s Dec 2006)
# “Eight Episodes”, Robert Reed (Asimov’s Jun 2006)
# “The House Beyond Your Sky”, Benjamin Rosenbaum (Strange Horizons Sep 2006)
# “How to Talk to Girls at Parties”, Neil Gaiman (Fragile Things)
# “Impossible Dreams”, Tim Pratt (Asimov’s Jul 2006)
# “Kin”, Bruce McAllister (Asimov’s Feb 2006)
# About Writing: Seven Essays, Four Letters, and Five Interviews, Samuel R. Delany (Wesleyan University Press)
# Cover Story: The Art of John Picacio, John Picacio (MonkeyBrain Books)
# Heinlein’s Children: The Juveniles, Joseph T. Major (Advent: Publishing)
# James Tiptree, Jr.: The Double Life of Alice B. Sheldon, Julie Phillips (St. Martin’s)
# Worldcon Guest of Honor Speeches, Mike Resnick & Joe Siclari, eds. (ISFiC)
Haven’t read any of these.
# Children of Men (Screenplay by Alfonso Cuaron and Timothy J. Sexton. Directed by Alfonso Cuaron. Universal Pictures)
# Pan’s Labyrinth
# The Prestige (Screenplay by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan. Directed by Christopher Nolan. Touchstone Pictures.)
# A Scanner Darkly (Screenplay by Richard Linklater. Directed by Richard Linklater. Warner Independent Pictures.)
# V for Vendetta (Screenplay by David Lloyd. Directed by James McTeigue. Warner Bros.)
No Pan’s Labyrinth?! And I don’t think V for Vendetta really belongs here. COM *should* win, in a just world.
# Battlestar Galactica: Downloaded (Writers Bradley Thompson and David Weddle. Directed by Jeff Woolnough. NBC Universal/British Sky.)
# Doctor Who: Girl in the Fireplace (Written by Steven Moffat. Directed by Euros Lyn. BBC Wales/BBC1.)
# Doctor Who: School Reunion (Written by Toby Whithouse. Directed by James Hawes. BBC Wales/BBC1.)
# Doctor Who: Army of Ghosts and Doomsday (Written by Russell T. Davies. Directed by Graeme Harper. BBC Wales/BBC1.)
# Stargate SG-1: 200 (Written by Brad Wright, Robert C. Cooper, Joseph Mallozzi, Paul Mullie, Carl Binder, Martin Gero, and Alan McCullough. Directed by Martin Wood. Double Secret Productions/NBC Universal.)
Three worthy series, I can’t complain.
# Gardner Dozois (The Year’s Best Science Fiction)
# David G. Hartwell (Year’s Best SF / New York Review of Science Fiction)
# Stanley Schmidt (Analog)
# Gordon Van Gelder (F&SF)
# Sheila Williams (Asimov’s)
Many of the usual suspects. 🙂
# Lou Anders (Pyr)
# James Patrick Baen (Baen)
# Ginjer Buchanan (Ace)
# David G. Hartwell (Tor)
# Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor)
I think Anders has done a great job at Pyr, but I suspect this will be Baen’s award this year for obvious reasons.
# Bob Eggleton
# Donato Giancola
# Stephan Martiniere
# John Jude Palencar
# John Picacio
# Ansible, Dave Langford
# Interzone, Andy Cox
# Lady Churchhill’s Rosebud Wristlet, Gavin Grant & Kelly Link
# Locus, Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong & Liza Groen Trombi
# The New York Review of Science Fiction, Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell & Kevin J. Maroney
Will Locus lose? 🙂
# Banana Wings, Claire Brialey & Mark Plummer
# Challenger, Guy H. Lillian III
# The Drink Tank, Chris Garcia
# Plokta, Alison Scott, Steve Davies & Mike Scott
# Science-Fiction Five-Yearly, Lee Hoffman, Geri Sullivan & Randy Byers
Hmm, I don’t read any of these. No dog in the fight.
# Chris Garcia
# John Hertz
# Dave Langford
# John Scalzi
# Steven H Silver
The hard working Steven Silver deserves a win, although I suspect Langford will win again, or maybe Scalzi.
# Brad W. Foster
# Teddy Harvia
# Sue Mason
# Steve Stiles
# Frank Wu
Many of the usual suspects.
John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer [Not a Hugo]
# Scott Lynch (first year of eligibility)
# Sarah Monette (second year of eligibility)
# Naomi Novik (first year of eligibility)
# Brandon Sanderson (second year of eligibility)
# Lawrence M. Schoen (second year of eligibility)
The weird two year eligibility rule suggests that I should root for Sarah Monette…although I think Naomi Novik, with the Temeraire novels, is the more deserving.