Thoughts on the 2007 Hugo Nominees

Andrew is right, its an interesting list this year.

Best Novel
* The Yiddish Policeman’s Union by Michael Chabon (HarperCollins, Fourth Estate)
* Brasyl by Ian McDonald (Gollancz; Pyr)
* Rollback by Robert J. Sawyer (Tor; Analog Oct. 2006-Jan/Feb. 2007)
* The Last Colony by John Scalzi (Tor)
* Halting State by Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit)
Four out of five isn’t bad. I don’t understand how Sawyer made this list. Its not even on the Locus list of recommended reading. And I haven’t been thrilled with what Sawyer I have read. This is Stross’ fifth straight novel nomination–a record.
Best Novella
* “Fountains of Age” by Nancy Kress (Asimov’s July 2007)
* “Recovering Apollo 8” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Asimov’s Feb. 2007)
* “Stars Seen Through Stone” by Lucius Shepard (F&SF July 2007)
* “All Seated on the Ground” by Connie Willis (Asimov’s Dec. 2007; Subterranean Press)
* “Memorare” by Gene Wolfe (F&SF April 2007)
A solid set of authors and stories.
Best Novelette
* “The Cambist and Lord Iron: a Fairytale of Economics” by Daniel Abraham (Logorrhea ed. by John Klima, Bantam)
* “The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate” by Ted Chiang (F&SF Sept. 2007)
* “Dark Integers” by Greg Egan (Asimov’s Oct./Nov. 2007)
* “Glory” by Greg Egan (The New Space Opera, ed. by Gardner Dozois and Jonathan Strahan, HarperCollins/Eos)
* “Finisterra” by David Moles (F&SF Dec. 2007)
Two Egans! (I read the Egan in TNSO). And Chiang, *again*. (It will be no surprise if he wins). I liked Abraham’s A Shadow in Summer novel, although I’ve not read this story.
Best Short Story
* “Last Contact” by Stephen Baxter (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction, ed. by George Mann, Solaris Books)
* “Tideline” by Elizabeth Bear (Asimov’s June 2007)
* “Who’s Afraid of Wolf 359?” by Ken MacLeod (The New Space Opera, ed. by Gardner Dozois and Jonathan Strahan, HarperCollins/Eos)
* “Distant Replay” by Mike Resnick (Asimov’s April/May 2007)
* “A Small Room in Koboldtown” by Michael Swanwick (Asimov’s April/May 2007; The Dog Said Bow-Wow, Tachyon Publication
Solid authors. I liked the Macleod story (which I read in the NSO book). I’m rooting for my friend Bear, though!
Best Related Book
* The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community by Diana Glyer; appendix by David Bratman (Kent State University Press)
* Breakfast in the Ruins: Science Fiction in the Last Millennium by Barry Malzberg (Baen)
* Emshwiller: Infinity x Two by Luis Ortiz, intro. by Carol Emshwiller, fwd. by Alex Eisenstien (Nonstop)
* Brave New Words: the Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by Jeff Prucher (Oxford University Press)
* The Arrival by Shaun Tan (Arthur A. Levine/Scholastic)
Pulling for Brave New Words.
Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form
* Enchanted Written by Bill Kelly, Directed by Kevin Lima (Walt Disney Pictures)
* The Golden Compass Written by Chris Weitz, Based on the novel by Philip Pullman, Directed by Chris Weitz (New Line Cinema)
* Heroes, Season 1, Created by Tim Kring (NBC Universal Television and Tailwind Productions Written by Tim Kring, Jeph Loeb, Bryan Fuller, Michael Green, Natalie Chaidez, Jesse Alexander, Adam Armus, Aron Eli Coleite, Joe Pokaski, Christopher Zatta, Chuck Kim, Directed by David Semel, Allan Arkush, Greg Beeman, Ernest R. Dickerson, Paul Shapiro, Donna Deitch, Paul A. Edwards, John Badham, Terrence O’Hara, Jeannot Szwarc, Roxann Dawson, Kevin Bray, Adam Kane
* Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Written by Michael Goldenberg, Based on the novel by J.K. Rowling, Directed by David Yates (Warner Bros. Pictures)
* Stardust Written by Jane Goldman & Matthew Vaughn, Based on the novel by Neil Gaiman, Directed by Matthew Vaughn (Paramount Pictures)
I suspect Stardust will win here…or maybe Heroes.
Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form
* Battlestar Galactica “Razor” written by Michael Taylor, directed by Félix Enríquez Alcalá and Wayne Rose (Sci Fi Channel) (televised version, not DVD)
* Dr. Who “Blink” written by Stephen Moffat, directed by Hettie Macdonald (BBC)
* Dr. Who “Human Nature” / “Family of Blood” written by Paul Cornell, directed by Charles Palmer (BBC)
* Star Trek New Voyages “World Enough and Time” written by Michael Reaves & Marc Scott Zicree, directed by Marc Scott Zicree (Cawley Entertainment Co. and The Magic Time Co.)
* Torchwood “Captain Jack Harkness” written by Catherine Tregenna, directed by Ashley Way (BBC Wales)
The usual suspects here, except for the controversial “Star Trek New Voyages” entry.
Best Professional Editor, Short Form
* Ellen Datlow (The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror (St. Martin’s), Coyote Road (Viking), Inferno (Tor))
* Stanley Schmidt (Analog)
* Jonathan Strahan (The New Space Opera (Eos/HarperCollins), The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume 1 (Night Shade), Eclipse One (Night Shade))
* Gordon Van Gelder (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)
* Sheila Williams (Asimov’s Science Fiction)
I’d like Strahan to win. I liked TNSO a lot.
Best Professional Editor, Long Form
* Lou Anders (Pyr)
* Ginjer Buchanan (Ace/Roc)
* David G. Hartwell (Senior Editor, Tor/Forge)
* Beth Meacham (Tor)
* Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor)
It’s hard to go wrong with this list. Out of the books I read last year, several were Pyr’s…so on that basis, I’d give Lou my vote.
* Bob Eggleton (Covers: To Outlive Eternity and Other Stories (Baen), Ivory (Pyr), & The Taint and Other Stories (Subterranean))
* Phil Foglio (Covers: Robert Asprin’s Myth Adventures, Vol. 2 (Meisha Merlin), What’s New (Dragon Magazine Aug. 2007), Girl Genius Vol. 6-Agatha Heterodyne & the Golden Trilobite (Airship Entertainment))
* John Harris (Covers: Spindrift (Ace), Horizons (Tor), The Last Colony (Tor))
* Stephan Martiniere (Covers: Brasyl (Pyr), Mainspring (Tor), Dragons of Babel (Tor))
* John Picacio (Covers: Fast Forward 2 (Pyr), Time’s Child (HarperCollins/Eos), A Thousand Deaths (Golden Gryphon))
* Shaun Tan
Martiniere, hands down.
Best Semiprozine
* Ansible edited by David Langford
* Helix edited by William Sanders and Lawrence Watt-Evans
* Interzone edited by Andy Cox
* Locus edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, & Liza Groen Trombi
* The New York Review of Science Fiction, edited by Kathryn Cramer, Kristine Dikeman, David Hartwell & Kevin J. Maroney
Locus will win…again.
Best Fanzine
* Argentus edited by Steven H Silver
* Challenger edited by Guy Lillian III
* Drink Tank edited by Chris Garcia
* File 770 edited by Mike Glyer
* PLOKTA edited by Alison Scott, Steve Davies, & Mike Scott
I have to root for Steve.
Best Fan Writer
* Chris Garcia
* David Langford
* Cheryl Morgan
* John Scalzi
* Steven H Silver
While it would be weird for John to win novel AND fan writer, this category seems to be the annual “David Langford award”. Someone else win for a change, please!
Best Fan Artist
* Brad Foster
* Teddy Harvia
* Sue Mason
* Steve Stiles
* Taral Wayne
No dog in the fight.
John W. Campbell Award for Best New Science Fiction Writer (Not a Hugo, But an Incredible Facsimile of One)
* Joe Abercrombie (2nd year of eligibility)
* Jon Armstrong (1st year of eligibility)
* David Anthony Durham (1st year of eligibility)
* David Louis Edelman (2nd year of eligibility)
* Mary Robinette Kowal (2nd year of eligibility)
* Scott Lynch (2nd year of eligibility)
I suspect Lynch will win this in a walk.